HEU congratulates student journalism award recipients

Union’s scholarship supports vibrant community of journalists in B.C.

Printer Friendly Version

The Hospital Employees’ Union congratulates Leasa Hachey, Leia Hutchings and Jenny Fremlin on being the recipients of three, HEU-sponsored 2009 Jack Webster Student Journalism Awards.

The three students are currently enrolled in journalism programs at Langara, BCIT and Thompson Rivers University respectively, and were recognized earlier this week at a gala celebration of the profession named for Vancouver’s renowned reporter, television commentator and talk radio host Jack Webster.

HEU secretary-business manager Judy Darcy says it’s a privilege to support these awards.

“We really believe that everyone in B.C. benefits from a vibrant and diverse community of journalists, and we’re proud to contribute to that legacy by supporting the Jack Webster Student Journalism Awards,” she says.

HEU has provided funding for the student journalism awards since 2006. Recipients are selected from applicants who are students in journalism programs at British Columbia Institute of Technology, Langara College, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Thompson Rivers University, or the University of British Columbia.

The Jack Webster Foundation was founded in 1986 and through the Jack Webster Awards, promotes and recognizes the achievements of B.C.-based reporters.