



# 2011 CUPE Communications Awards winners announced

*CUPE newsletter:* We're pleased to announce the winners of our 2011 CUPE Communications Awards! There were more entries than ever this year. Our communicators showed us what a great job they do in their locals to keep CUPE members informed.

Good communication at every level of our union is a must to ensure solidarity and strength. From the smallest local right up to the national office, our communicators share important happenings in our workplace and in our communities.

Here are the winners:

# English Newsletters

Less than 300 members: CUPE 556 (Courtenay, B.C.), *CUPE Connector*, Cheryl Sellers and Greg Berube

300 to 1,000 members: CUPE 2081 (Victoria), The Pressure Point, Sukhie Bangarh

**1,000 to 3,000 members:** <u>CUPE 3909</u> (Winnipeg), *The Spark!*, Brian Latour and George Buri

More than 3,000 members: *Co-winners*: Hospital Employees' Union (Burnaby, B.C.), *Guardian*, Patty Gibson/CUPE B.C. (Burnaby), *Public Employee*, Daniel Gawthrop

# **French Newsletters**

Less than 300 members: NO WINNER

300 to 1,000 members: SCFP 2960 (Montréal), Action-Info, Felix Béland, Sylvain Lemieux

1,000 to 3,000 members: SCFP 2815 (Montréal), Le Signal, Jacques Denommé

More than 3,000 members: SCFP 429 (Montréal), ColBlanc, Gérald Brosseau

...more

- Page Two -

## **English Websites**

Best content: <u>CUPE 3902</u> (Toronto), <u>cupe3902.org</u>, Mike Skinner and Wayne Dealy

Best design: <u>CUPE 79</u> (Toronto), <u>cupelocal79.org</u>, Tor Sandberg

Best overall: Hospital Employees' Union (Burnaby), HEU.org, Sharon Neufeld

### French Websites

**Best content/Best overall:** SCFP 429 (Montréal), <u>sfmm429.qc.ca</u>, Jean-René Usclat and Michèle Blais

Best design: SCFP 1294 - SEUQAM (Montréal), seuqam.org, Chantal Bourgeois

### **Photos**

**Best photo:** *Co-winners*: Jonny Sopotiuk, CUPE 3909 (Winnipeg)/Rick Bujold, SCFP 301 (Montréal)

Thanks to all the communicators who entered. And thanks to all the communicators that keep our union strong. We hope you'll enter next time, in 2013!

November 3, 2011