Call for outstanding achievement award nominations at HEU convention

As HEU gears up for its 31st biennial convention – Powered by solidarity – held at Vancouver’s Hyatt Regency Hotel (November 4-9), there’s an opportunity for members to nominate their colleagues for special outstanding achievement awards.

This is a call for nominations for the HEU Social Justice Award, the HEU disAbility Rights Award, and the Mary LaPlante Sisterhood Award. All three awards will be presented during convention.

The HEU Social Justice Award 
This was first awarded to former HEU president Fred Muzin in 2008 for his tremendous contribution to the struggle for social justice. The award acknowledges outstanding work in the area of peace and global justice, and may be awarded to an HEU member, an HEU local or another organization.

The HEU disAbility Rights Award 
This award was established in 2010 on the recommendation of the HEU People with disAbilities Standing Committee. The award is to acknowledge an HEU member with a disability who has made an outstanding contribution to the union and/or the community by promoting and defending the rights of persons with disabilities. 

The Mary LaPlante Sisterhood Award 
This was first awarded to Mary LaPlante, feminist and trade union activist, at the 2006 convention upon her retirement after 22 years as the union’s financial secretary. The award is now presented at each convention to an HEU sister who has done outstanding work promoting women’s issues in the union and in her community. 

Information and nomination forms were recently mailed out to the union’s secretary-treasurers. Each nomination must be signed by two nominators, and nominees must meet or exceed the criteria for the awards as stated on the nomination form. 

Please send completed forms by mail to Patti da Silva, HEU Provincial Office, 5000 North Fraser Way, Burnaby, B.C. V5J 5M3 or by email or by fax at 604-739-1510 by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, September 21, 2018.

Current members of the Provincial Executive are not eligible to receive these awards.